h1

Friday Flash Fiction: Windows for Eyes

September 26, 2008

…and the damn McDonalds ad kept coming back up.

I triggered my blocker and it was gone leaving behind a ghost image for a few seconds before the buffer could clear. I need to update to the latest Windows Vision 10, winvis9 is pretty buggy. I mean my new eyes are only 5 months old and already they have trouble with refresh rate and spam.

It wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t for 419ers worming around the security settings and waking me up in the middle of the night with promised riches. Bastards! Are there still people dumb enough to fall for that line of crap?

Don’t get me wrong my new eyes are way better than bio eyes. I mean I don’t see trash, I have live maps going all the time and I can see everyone’s vcard which is cool. I even got this great theme going right now, all the dudes are dressed but all the chicks are naked, well the software makes them as close an approximation as possible. Anyways, I need to tweak that filter a bit, it’s been a bit flakey lately and I’ve been startled by a few full monties and that ain’t cool.

All the buildings are flowing shades of coral and it’s like we are all walking under the ocean with fish and dolphins cruising around. Sometimes it gets hard focusing on what I’m doing or where I’m going.

The mermaids are awesome.

But the hassles of having advertising piped directly into your visual cortex is almost enough to sour me on the whole thing.

Maybe I’ll get me a pair of iEyes from Apple.

3 comments

  1. A nice satire – just the right length.


  2. This made me smile and reminded me – in a good way – of Stross’s Futures piece for Nature magazine. If you’ve not checked it out take a look, it’s available on their website as a PDF and I think you’ll enjoy it.


  3. Well, funny you should bring up Stross, I’m reading Accellerando right now and it of course has influenced the piece. Although I have been trying to incorporate extra computer/cyborg/wetware tech in my writing for awhile.

    It’s hard to write about it effectively. I also have a semi-worked through plot line that incorporates both “standard” telepathy and interconnectivity through wetware as well.

    Talk about confusing.



Leave a comment